Cable TV static while fan is running

Started by Paul, July 09, 2015, 01:44:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul

I am at a seasonal campsite with cable TV hookup. When watching the TV the picture is good but when I start any of my vents fan there is some static in the screen and the image quality goes down. This only happens with the vents fan ON this is really weird! When I put the fan OFF the picture quality is back to normal
2014 Ford Escape
2015 Camplite 13QBB
2016 Ford F150
2018 Ford F150
2018 Camplite 21BHS

Merlin

Here are a few ideas. but I have no direct experience with this problem. I assume you have a modern HD television and a digital signal from the campground cable running through standard 75 ohm coax with F-type connectors. The motors in the fans are probably causing radio frequency interference that's getting into the TV signal. Start with making sure all the cable connections are tight.  Then try plugging the television power cord into a different circuit in the camper. Then put a clamp-on noise suppressor on the television power cord at the plug.  Then try plugging the television and the cable into a noise-suppression surge protector. Then try bringing the campground cable directly to the back of the television, by-passing all the cable wiring in the camper. Then try a different television. Then replace the vent fans. Then give up, turn off the television, and go for a walk. That's it from me; that's all I got.  :)

http://www.amazon.com/Panamax-MD2-C-Outlet-Direct-Plug-/dp/B003GSLLDI/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1436561633&sr=8-6&keywords=tv+signal+noise+suppressor

http://www.amazon.com/UF-50B-Noise-Suppressor-Ferrite-Filters/dp/B009ENG6TI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1436561714&sr=8-1&keywords=ferrite+choke+filter

Michigan

Paul