Sway!

Started by GoElectric, March 15, 2023, 02:13:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GoElectric

Our 16DBS with the rear deck (probably the problem and guessing why they were not available on later models) always has a little sway.  Do not have this issue with anything else we tow, even heavier. I studied it to no end and don't have any answers, but I can live with it as long as you mind your  p's & q's not an issue for me, but the mrs. says something must be done before a 7000 mile trip this summer. We are open to any suggestions.

When we picked up our camper we purchased a Reese light/medium duty weight distribution hitch.  Did not know about Andersen at the time, but probably doesn't matter.  After towing a few times, lighting up the spring bar tension each time until they were just hanging, so we don't use them, the spring bars made sway and the ride worse. Seems like way overkill for the size of the load being towed. We put approximately 100 pounds on the bed up front, half fill the water tank, under storage compartment full, Blackstone, etc., to put as much weight on the tongue as possible. Also 2 6 volt golf cat batteries up front Also keep about 200-300 pounds of gear in back of our Tahoe tow vehicle. Vehicle sits slightly high in rear with the camping gear we always leave in it.

I put the camper on the hitch and it drops it 1 1/4" and sits perfectly level, it does not phase it much with